Celebrating Interdisciplinary Collaboration Among Faculty at Georgetown

Bill (’92) and Karen Sonneborn, donors for the Provost Innovation in Teaching Award and the Sonneborn Interdisciplinary Chairs, recently visited to meet with Provost Robert M. Groves and with the 2023 awardees to discuss their research and the societal impact they are making.

The William and Karen Sonneborn Chair for Interdisciplinary Collaboration was created for the purpose of incentivizing interdisciplinary collaboration, internally, among Georgetown University faculty, and to expand the ways that students (both undergraduate and graduate) can be meaningfully engaged in their interdisciplinary research. The Interdisciplinary Chairs are made possible through a gift from William (B ’92) and Karen Sonneborn to support interdisciplinary research, intra-institutional collaboration, and the engagement of students in interdisciplinary research on the world’s greatest challenges. 

The Provost’s Innovation in Teaching Award was launched in Fall 2018 by Provost Robert M. Groves. It recognizes a faculty member, a faculty team, or a whole department/unit that has exhibited exceptional creativity and innovative approaches to promote student-centered learning. The Provost’s Innovation in Teaching Awards and the Showcase are supported by the Bill (B ‘92) and Karen Sonneborn Innovation Fund. Created in Spring 2019, the fund supports activities that advance Georgetown’s leadership in innovation and equitable educational approaches.