Dorothy Brown Award

Image of Georgetown SEal
Office of the Provost Logo

The Dorothy Brown Award is a university-wide award for Outstanding Teaching Achievement. This award honors the work of Dorothy M. Brown, who served Georgetown University for over 35 years as a teacher and administrator. It is presented each year on Georgetown Day to an outstanding faculty member whose contributions demonstrate a strong commitment to the educational advancement of students. The award is given by the Georgetown University Student Association (GUSA). Students nominate and vote on the slate of nominees to select the award winner.

Past Awardees

2018 – Kirsten Anderson (McDonough School of Business)

2017 – Heidi Elmendorf (College, Biology)

2016 – Rev. Kevin O’Brien, S.J. (College, Theology)

2015 – Iwona Sadowska (College, Slavic Languages)

2014 – Marcia Chatelain (College, History)

2013 – Rev. Stephen Fields, S.J. (College, Theology)

2012 – Elizabeth Arsenault (Walsh School of Foreign Service)

2011 – Fr. Matthew Carnes, S.J. (College, Government & Walsh School of Foreign Service)

2010 – Lynn Doran (McDonough School of Business)

2009 – Francis Ambrosio (College, Philosophy)

2008 – Fr. James Schall (College, Government)

2007 – Joan Riley (School of Nursing and Health Studies