MSCHE Working Group

May 1-4th, 2022

Working Group #1:  Priority #1 | Research Excellence and Interdisciplinary Capacity to Address Complex Problems 

Charge: Working Group #1 will be responsible for collecting and analyzing Georgetown’s capacity to build the University’s research infrastructure, through interdisciplinary engagement, student experiences, and its academic programs.

Billy Jack (Chair)Vice Provost for Research and Professor of Economics
Kathryn M. de Luna (Vice Chair)Associate Professor,
Department of History
Alexander SensInterim Dean, Graduate School of Arts & Sciences & 
Professor of Hellenic Studies
Department of Classics
Jeremy KoonsProfessor, Department of Philosophy
Georgetown University-Qatar
Greg KlassJohn Carroll Research Professor of Law
Law Center Faculty
Mike BaileyProfessor & Director of the Data Science for Public Policy Program
Department of Government
Elliott CrookeProfessor & Department Chair for Biochemistry, GUMC Academic COO, Sr. Associate Dean, Faculty and Academic Affairs
Robin Dillon-MerrillProfessor and Area Coordinator for the Operations and Information Management Group in the McDonough School of Business
Jan LaRocqueAssociate Professor
Department of Human Science
Jennifer WoolardAssociate Professor
Department of Psychology
Ryan JohnsonLauinger Library
Head of Research Services
Shweta BansalAssociate Professor
Department of Biology
Nicoletta PiredduProfessor
Inaugural Director, Georgetown Humanities Initiative
Peter TurkeltaubAssistant Professor of Neurology
Director, Aphasia Clinic at MedStar National Rehabilitation Hospital

Working Group #2:  Priority #2 | Curricular Excellence, Innovation and Effectiveness 

Charge: Working Group #2 will engage in self-evaluation of Georgetown’s effectiveness at creating a transformative, equitable and inclusive learning experience in undergraduate and graduate education. The Working Group will explore how well the University is preparing students to become transformative leaders and agents of positive change.

Randy Bass (Chair)Vice President, Strategic Education Initiatives
Jeanine Turner (Vice Chair)Professor
Communication, Culture, and Technology (CCT)
Sarah StollProfessor
Department of Chemistry
Kai Henrik BarthSenior Assistant Dean for Research Support 
Georgetown University – Qatar
Donna MorrisonAssociate Professor
McCourt School of Public Policy
Lisa KahnAssistant Dean, Academic Affairs
McDonough School of Business (MSB)
Margaret GranittoInstructor, Department of Nursing
School of Nursing and Health Studies (NHS)
Shenita RayVice Dean 
School of Continuing Studies (SCS)
Mark GiordanoProfessor of Geography 
Edmund A. Walsh School of Foreign Service
Eddie MaloneyExecutive Director, 
Center for New Designs in Learning and Scholarship (CNDLS)
Thomas BanchoffVice President for Global Engagement
Craig RinkerDirector, Office of Global Education
Andria WislerExecutive Director, Center for Social Justice Research, Teaching and Service and Associate Teaching Professor of Justice and Peace
Ali ArabAssociate Professor
Department of Mathematics and Statistics
Marilyn McMorrowAssociate Teaching Professor
Department of Government
Jessica JonesAssociate Professor
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular & Cellular Biology

Working Group #3:  Priority #3 | Improving the Student Experience: Graduate and Undergraduate

Charge:  Working Group #3 will be charged with conducting a thorough investigation of Georgetown’s commitment to creating and sustaining a vibrant living and learning community, from admission through graduation, that strengthens the student experience, promotes individual and communal well-being, and better integrates academic, residential, and social life. 

Todd Olson (Chair)Vice President of Student Affairs
Maria Snyder (Vice Chair)Associate Dean of Academic Affairs 
Graduate School of Arts and Sciences
Thom Chiarolanzio Senior Associate Dean, Undergraduate Programs
Georgetown College
Brendan HillSenior Associate Dean for Students 
Patricia GrantAssociate Dean, Undergraduate Program
McDonough School of Business
Nirmala FernandesDirector of Academic Affairs
McCourt School of Public Policy
Joan RileyEngelhard Senior Scholar & Associate Professor,  Department of Human Science
Michael CanterSenior Associate Dean, Students and Academic Operations
School of Continuing Studies (SCS)
Mitch KanedaSenior Associate Dean & Director
School of Foreign Service (SFS)
Erika Cohen-DerrAssistant Vice President of Student Affairs
Beth HarlanAssociate Director, Career Education & Counseling 
Cawley Career Education Center (CCEC)
Adanna JohnsonAssociate Vice President for Student Equity and Inclusion 
Student Affairs Office of the Vice President
Jean DalyAssociate Dean
Student Financial Services
Stephanie LynchAssistant Vice President for Student Affairs 
Student Affairs Office of the Vice President
Amanda YenCollege Academic Council
Fr. Greg SchendenDirector of Campus Ministry
Peter JaworskiAssociate Teaching Professor
McDonough School of Business
Jason BrennanProfessor
McDonough School of Business
Susan MulroneyProfessor and Vice-Chair
Department of Physiology
Felipe Lobo KoerichPresident, SFS Academic Council
Karli GilbertPhD Candidate, Neuroscience

Working Group #4: Priority #4 | Ethics, Integrity and Mission

Charge: Working Group #4 will have the dual responsibility of reviewing all University processes and procedures to demonstrate Georgetown University’s ongoing compliance with the Standards as they pertain to Ethics and Integrity. The group’s additional responsibility will be to complete the Institutional Federal Compliance Report.

James Ward (Chair)Associate Vice President for Compliance and Ethics
Associate General Counsel
Mark Bosco (Vice-Chair)Vice President for Mission and Ministry
Office of Mission and Ministry
Lee ReedDirector, 
Athletics Department
Melissa CostanziSenior Associate Director
Undergraduate Admissions
Adam AdlerUniversity Counsel
Office of the General Counsel
Rosemary KilkennyVice President for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
Office of the President
Chandan VaidyaVice Provost for Faculty Affairs
Office of the Provost
Patricia McWadeDean
Student Financial Services
Jamie KralovecAssociate Director for Mission Integration
School of Continuing Studies
Bryce BadgerVice President
Undergraduate Student Association
Karen StohrAssociate Professor
Department of Philosophy
Kristi GravesAssociate Professor
Department of Oncology
Anne KoesterSenior Compliance Specialist/ Protection of Minors Policy Manager
Office of Compliance & Ethics

Working Group #5:  Standard 7: Governance, Leadership & Administration

Charge: Working Group #5 will be responsible for assessing the University’s governing structure, leadership, and administration to demonstrate their effectiveness in upholding the University’s mission, values, and vision to execute the four institutional priorities.

Marie Mattson (Chair)Secretary of the University 
Office of the President
Anthony Clark Arend (Vice Chair)Professor of Government and Foreign Service
Chair of the Department of Government
Ian GaleProfessor of Economics
Georgetown College
David GreenChief Financial Officer 
Administrative Services
Lisa KrimSenior Advisor to the President for Faculty Relations 
Office of the President
Amol DaniVice President and Chief Financial Officer 
Office of the Provost – Main Campus 
Geoff ChatasSenior Vice President and Chief Operating Officer
Wayne DavisProfessor of Philosophy
President, Faculty Senate
Sally McCarthyAssistant Dean for Curriculum Design
Georgetown Law
 L. Whitman BrownAssociate Dean and Chief Operating Officer
Georgetown University Medical School
Kimberly DavisAssociate Professor
Oncology Department, Georgetown University Medical School
Ian GaleProfessor
Department of Economics