Provost’s Undergraduate Research Council

Purpose: The Provost Undergraduate Research Council (PURC) is a faculty-undergraduate student council formed to guide and promote undergraduate research. The Council (1) helps coordinate and promote undergraduate research opportunities; (2) assists students and their mentors in conducting research on and off campus and in compliance with Georgetown and federal policies and procedures (e.g., GUACUC, IRB, minority policy); (3) develops priority areas for supporting undergraduate research; and, (4) showcases undergraduate research at scheduled conferences, symposia, workshops, etc. (5) helps to facilitate funding for undergraduate research and related activities. The Council may also review award nominations and proposals for undergraduate research activities. The Council interacts with other units that support undergraduate research (e.g., Gervase/GUROP, Psi Chi, NHS URC).

Membership: PURC is comprised of a range of faculty and students to represent original and mentored undergraduate research, including but not limited to Directors of URC at NHS, Director of local Psi Chi Chapter (Honors Society in Psychology), and members of SURG. Faculty and undergraduate members are appointed by the Vice Provost for Research and the Vice Provost for Education. The Vice Provost for Research and Vice Provost for Education serve as co-chairs of PURC with the assistance of the Assistant to the Provost for Academic Affairs. The co-chairs, undergraduate representatives and faculty members have full voting privileges. Up to two members may be elected by GUSA. It is anticipated that in addition to the co-chairs and Provost’s assistant, there are at least 4-6 faculty members and 4-6 undergraduate representatives. Most members will serve one year on the council but two years is preferable.

Standing Members 2014-2016:

  • Janet Mann, co-Chair and Vice Provost for Research
  • Randall Bass, co-Chair and Vice Provost for Education
  • Sonia Jacobsen, Assistant to the Provost for Academic Affairs
  • 4-6 faculty members
  • 4-6 undergraduate members