Alfred Bertrand as the New Director of Georgetown University Press

Posted in News Story  |  Tagged

Georgetown University Press is pleased to announce the appointment of Alfred (Al) Bertrand as the new Director of Georgetown University Press. He replaces Richard Brown, who left Georgetown in October 2017 after almost 17 years.

Bertrand arrives at Georgetown after having spent the last eight years at Princeton University Press. First as Publishing Director for Europe, Bertrand led European publishing operations from 2010 to 2013, then transitioned to become Associate Publishing Director. In this role, he drove efforts to expand global reach, increase revenue and establish a presence in China. Most recently, he served as the press’s Editor-in-Chief, leading editorial efforts and expanding international authorship.

Prior to joining Princeton University Press, Bertrand served as Editorial Director for John Wiley and Sons in Oxford. He began his career with Blackwell Publishing in 1999 as Commissioning Editor for Classical Studies and Ancient History. Bertrand has a Masters of Arts in Classics from Princeton University and received a bachelor’s in history from the University of Chicago.

Georgetown University Press supports the research and academic mission of Georgetown University and expands the university’s engagement with the local community and the world by publishing peer-reviewed content for a diverse, global readership. In addition, the GU community wishes to extend the appreciation to Hope LeGro for her service and leadership as Interim Director for the past year.

2024 Distinguished Associate Professors

April 1st, 2024

The Provost Office is pleased to announce the 2024 Distinguished Associate Professors: Francesco D’Acunto is Associate Professor in the McDonough School of Business, in the Finance…

2023 Provost Awards Ceremony and Reception

November 14th, 2023

Thanks to all who joined the Office of the Provost for the inaugural Provost Awards Ceremony and Reception and congratulations to the awardees! 2023 Provost’s Innovation in Teaching Award…